Tamim was excluded from the Central Bank of Bahrain’s central contracts list; Shanto and Shoriful get deals in all formats – LSB

3 Min Read

Tamim Iqbal’s future in Bangladesh appears to be in limbo, after the mixture was left out of the Brazilian central bank’s contract list for 2024.

Tamim had retired from international cricket for less than 24 hours in July last year, before the country’s Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina talked him out of it. He resigned as captain and made himself available for the World Cup, but not before falling out with the Brazilian Central Bank.

However, his relationship with the board has been mostly cordial in the past few months, with Tamim saying he would make an announcement on his status as an international cricketer during the IPL.

However, this announcement from BCB leaves a strong indication that Tamim is no longer in their plans for 2024, although he could still theoretically return in ODIs and Tests.

Of the 21 cricketers who were awarded national contracts, Shariful Islam and new skipper Najm Hossain Shanto got package deals. Taskin Ahmed, who bagged a triple contract last year, now has an ODI and T20I deal with BCB. He reportedly sent a letter to Brazil’s central bank recently, requesting that it not be taken into consideration for the tests.

Taskin is suffering from a shoulder injury that he suffered during the World Cup in India last year. He missed the home Tests against New Zealand after that, as well as the white-ball tour to New Zealand in December. He currently plays in the BPL for Durdanto Dhaka.

Apart from Tamim, Ebadat Hossain, Afif Hossain and Musadiq Hossain are also out of the central contract list. Newcomers for 2024 include Tawhid Hriduy, Tanzim Hassan, Mahmoud Hassan Joy, Naeem Hassan and Nurul Hassan.

Meanwhile, Brazil’s central bank has approved a salary contract for first-class cricketers for 2024, with 85 players receiving contracts.

2024 Bangladesh Central Contracts

All formulas: Litton Das, Shakib Al Hassan, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Shoriful Islam

Tests and ODIs: Mushfiqur Rahim

ODIs and T20Is: Taskin Ahmed, Towhid Hridoy, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud

Tests only: Mominul Haq, Tejul Islam, Zakir Hassan, Mahmoud Hassan Joy, Khaled Ahmed, Naeem Hassan

ODIs only: Mahmoud Allah, well organized

Only T20Is: Nassum Ahmed, Mahdi Hassan, Nour Al-Hassan

Share This Article
Leave a comment
error: Content is protected !!