Suryakumar Yadav to captain India against Australia for T20I series; Axar Patel is back – LSB

3 Min Read

With Hardik Pandya yet to recover from his ankle injury, Suryakumar Yadav will lead India in the five-match T20I series against Australia, starting November 23. Ruturaj Gaikwad will be the vice-captain for the first three matches before handing over responsibility to Shreyas. Iyer, who will join the team for the final two matches.
Of the ODI World Cup squad, Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan and Prasidh Krishna are the only ones named for the entire series, while Axar Patel, who was ruled out of the World Cup due to a quadriceps strain, returns.

However, there was no room for Sanju Samson and Shahbaz Ahmed, who were part of Ireland’s T20Is squad in August. Rayyan Parag, who almost single-handedly carried Assam to the semi-finals of the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and Abhishek Sharma, the player of the tournament, were unable to find a place either.

Apart from Axar, Washington Sundar is the other all-rounder. Shivam Dubey, too, is in the mix, but he has bowled only sporadically of late, serving just four overs in eight matches in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Ravi Bishnoi is the only wrist spinner in the team.

This is the first time that Suryakumar will lead India. Previously, he captained Mumbai in 36 matches across domestic cricket formats. Earlier this year, he also captained Mumbai Indians against Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League.

The series will start just four days after India lost to Australia in the ODI World Cup final in Ahmedabad. But with the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA almost six months away, the focus will now shift to T20Is.

The first match of the series will be played in Visakhapatnam before the caravan moves on to Thiruvananthapuram (November 26), Guwahati (November 28), Raipur (December 1) and Bengaluru (December 3). VVS Laxman, who coached the India men’s team to a gold medal in the Asian Games, will be in charge of the five T20Is.

India lineup for Australia T20Is: Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yashavi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh. ., Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (Vice-Captain, only available for the last two T20Is)

Share This Article
Leave a comment
HTML Snippets Powered By :
error: Content is protected !!